Meditation

I have been meditating regularly for almost a year.   My usual meditation routine occurs in the morning.   I sit on my bed with my back against the wall, and set the timer on my phone for 10 minutes.   I focus on my breath; because my mind is going so many places, I mentally say “in” on the inhale and “out” on the exhale.  Sometimes it helps with the mind, sometimes it does not help.   When I am finished, I cannot help but feel peaceful, even if I had to constantly bring my focus back to the breath.

I think meditation is like being friends with yourself.   Thoughts are coming, the mind is doing what the mind does, and you are just sitting, bring your focus back to the breath, the mantra, etc., and you are not reacting.  You are sitting with yourself.

Each meditation experience is different, sometimes I feel, what I think is, energy flowing in my forearms.  It is such a nice feeling.  Meditation, I get it.

Here are some meditation quotes, some I made up, some I have read.

“Meditation — Don’t leave home without it.” – me

“Make friends with yourself — Meditate.” – me

“Don’t hate, meditate.” – numerous Facebook posts

“If it weren’t for my mind, my meditation would be excellent.” – Ani Pema Chodron

“Meditation practice isn’t about trying to throw ourselves away and become something better, it’s about befriending who we are.”  Ani Pema Chodron

“After a few years of meditation practice we can even learn how to occasionally ignore ourselves. And what relief that can be!” – Wes Nisker

“All of man’s difficulties are caused by his inability to sit, quietly, in a room by himself.” –  Blaise Pascal

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

