Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes: A Moving Meditation

I have been doing, what I call, a moving meditation for three-year olds, with my preschoolers.    We do Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes, super fast, like a cheetah.   Then we do Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes, super slow, like a turtle.    Then we do Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes in silence.   Then we do it with our eyes closed.   When I first added the closed eyes version, I did not sing Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes.   It is so interesting to observe the  child doing the closed-eyes version because I could see them deciding where the put their fingers.    The first time I added the closed-eyes version I did not sing the song; however, I have been singing it in a whisper voice for them, and it helps engage all the students.   A few of them always tell me this is hard after we are done, and they are right, it is!

Leave a Reply

